Download PDF

LEED, BREEAM, SKA and WELL are the key sustainability assessment certifications. Each is the subject of its own fact sheet.

What is LEED?

LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) was developed by the US Green Building Council. It is a set of rating systems for the design, construction, operation, and maintenance of green buildings, homes, and neighbourhoods, which aims to help building owners and operators be environmentally responsible and use resources efficiently. It is for all building types and all phases including new construction, interior fit out projects, operations and maintenance and core and shell.

"LEED provides a framework for green building design, construction, operations and performance. Built-in strategies and related outcomes help buildings and spaces determine what is most important, set sustainability goals and then go on to achieve those goals.

Nearly 100,000 projects are participating in LEED across 180+ countries and territories, comprising over 24 billion square feet."

LEED assessment and certification

Similarly to BREEAM, to receive LEED certification, fit out projects have to undergo an assessment, satisfy prerequisites, and earn weighted points across various environmental issues.

LEED projects employ strategies across the following areas that address key aspects of green buildings:

- Integrative process

- Location and transportation

- Sustainable sites

- Water efficiency

- Energy and atmosphere

- Materials and resources

- Indoor environmental quality

- Innovation

- Regional priority

A certificate rating of Platinum, Gold, Silver or Certified is awarded based on final performance.

Additional LEED ratings

USGBC has developed LEED Zero that verifies the achievement of net zero goals in existing buildings.